2021/11/05(周五) 在日本生活

生活在日本的传统中:町屋

许多外国学生和实习生在东京的街道上走来走去,发现日本的所有现代文化方面,在东京度过了愉快的时光。此外,许多大学生、外国工人和旅行者在长期或短期逗留期间喜欢在历史名城京都漫步,只是沉浸在许多商店、寺庙和神社所提供的美景中。然而,并不总是能够直接生活在日本这样一种独特文化的文化和历史片段中。其中一方面是传统的“町屋”房屋,例如京都SAKURA HOUSE之家的房屋。

这些房子是什么?为什么这么多人认为他们是他们住宿的绝对要求?最重要的是,“machiya”是什么意思?

我们着眼于这些问题,并稍微了解了使这些历史建筑作品成为全球追捧的独特艺术作品的历史和美感。

“町家”这个词由镇(町)和房子(家)的汉字组成,直译为townhouse。基本上,町屋是完全由木头制成的传统联排别墅,在建造过程中没有使用钉子。相反,错综复杂的互锁木片设计被设置为一个难题,为整个结构提供独特的抗高等级地震能力。这些房屋不仅用作住宅,还用作业主的商店或营业场所。

在日本各地都可以找到这些房屋,但较大且保存完好的町家街区大多只在京都、金泽、高山和仓敷等地区发现。听到“京町屋”也共用,特指京都的町家。

传统上,房屋布局因其狭长的形状而被称为“unagi no nedoko”或日语中的“鳗鱼床”。有趣的是,在整个江户时代,商店是根据面向街道的店面的大小征税的,因此通过尽可能地缩小店面,避免了高额的税收。作为补偿,这些房屋开发了一种深窄的设计,以在室内留出更多空间。

房子的前面区域,从街道直接进入时看到的第一个房间,被称为“mise no ma”或“商店空间”。这是业主展示他们的商品的地方,因为从街道上直接看到它提供了一种店面展示功能。

SAKURA HOUSE KYOTO的“mise no ma”,在KYOTO R&L house门口

就在这个房间旁边,或者就在到达它之前,就是所谓的“mise niwa”或“商店花园”。这是日常业务将在销售商品或与客户或邻里事务进行一般业务事务时发生的区域。

KYOTO R的“zashiki”房间,可以直接看到花园

房子内部稍远一点是“zashiki”或“接待室”,通常面向“坪 niwa”(内庭院)。在这里邀请特别的客人在享受庭院花园的季节性氛围的同时,边聊天,边喝茶。 “tsubo niwa”是主花园所在的位置,不仅提供与自然的接触和季节的流逝,还提供了整个房屋的自然光和空气流动。

从日本花园看京都 R 町屋

最后,沿着这些房间的一侧是“hashiri niwa”或“走廊花园”,厨房、卫生间和浴室都设在那里。这个区域通常是泥泞的地板和非常高的天花板,有一个逃生口,可以在烹饪时排出烟雾,并全天提供一些自然光。当然,客户和客人在访问期间不会被邀请进入该区域。

KYOTO R 厨房顶部的原始町屋结构

随着时间的推移,这些房间中的许多都经过改造以适应现代生活的需要,但正如我们在KYOTO R 房屋中所看到的那样,房屋的总体结构和设计继续存在,因为它提供了一种独特的自然感美丽。

京都 R-Kura 房间

房子的最后面是一个单独的房间,专门存放家庭的贵重物品,这些物品是金钱、商品或家庭财宝。这是“库拉”或“仓库”。由于墙壁上覆盖着厚厚的石膏,即使在盛夏,整个房间仍然很凉爽。为了利用这一点,我们的京都 R-Kura 房间是这些房屋可能具有的独特现代变化的完美例子,使其成为一个独特的房间,与房屋的其他部分分开,使其成为一个非常安静和宁静的地方让学生或外国工人专注于他们在京都的原因。

还有其他几个方面来装饰和构成町屋,但目前,我们希望上面的描述可以快速了解这些房屋直到今天仍然具有的实用性和美感。

如果您想在计划在京都逗留期间入住传统町家风格的联排别墅,请随时联系我们的专职工作人员,以个性化搜索最适合您的选择。

分享

相关住宿

  • 合租公寓

    涩谷 千駄谷 ANNEX 1


  • 合租公寓

    涩谷 千駄谷 ANNEX 2


  • 合租公寓

    中野坂上 -中野区东京-樱花之家


  • 合租公寓
    合租宿舍

    新宿 曙桥5 Shinjuku Akebonobashi5


  • 合租公寓

    都立大学 目黒


  • 合租公寓
    个人公寓

    中野新桥-新宿地区-樱花之家


ARCHIVE

本网站使用cookies。您将继续浏览本网站同意使用我们的cookie。了解更多这里

2021/11/05 (Fri) Japanese Tips

Living in Japan’s traditions: Machiya house

Many foreign students and interns have enjoyed their stay in Tokyo by walking around its streets and discovering all the modern cultural aspects of Japan. Also, many university students, foreign workers and travelers have enjoyed walking around the historical city of Kyoto during their long or short term stay, simply partaking in the contemplation of the beauty that the many shops, temples and shrines provide. However, it is not always possible to live directly in one of this cultural and historical pieces of such a unique culture as the Japanese. One aspect of these are the traditional “machiya” houses, like the ones of SAKURA HOUSE KYOTO.

What are these houses? Why do so many people find them a absolute requirement for their stay? And most of all, what does “machiya” mean?

We look at these questions and a little bit on the history and beauty that make these architectural pieces of history such a unique work of art sought after worldwide.

The word “machiya” (町家) is composed of the kanji character for town (町) and for house (家), making a literal translation to townhouse. Basically, machiya houses are traditional townhouses completely made out of wood with no nails used during their construction. Instead, an intricate design of interlocked wood pieces are set as a puzzle, providing the entire structure with a unique resistance to high grade earthquakes. These houses use to serve not only as residence but also as shop or place of business of the owners.

It is possible to find these houses all throughout Japan, but larger and well-preserved machiya neighborhoods are mostly only found in areas such as Kyoto, Kanazawa, Takayama and Kurashiki, among others. It is also common to hear about “Kyo-machiya”, refering specifically to the machiya houses of Kyoto.

Traditionally, the house layout was known as a “unagi no nedoko”, or “eel bed” in Japanese, due to its narrow and long shape. Interestingly, throughout the Edo period, stores were taxed in accordance to the size of the storefront facing the street, therefore by keeping it as narrow as possible, high tax payments were avoided. To compensate, the houses developed a deep narrow design to allow more space indoors.

The front area of the house, the first room seen when entering directly from the street, is called a “mise no ma” or “shop space”. This is where the owners would show their goods as its direct view from the street provides a kind of storefront display feature.

The “mise no ma” of SAKURA HOUSE KYOTO, by the entrance of KYOTO R & L houses

Right next to this room, or just before reaching it, is what is known as a “mise niwa” or “shop garden”. This is the area where the daily business would take place in either selling goods or conducting general business matters with customers or neighborhood matters.

The “zashiki” room of KYOTO R, with direct garden view

A little further inside the house is the “zashiki” or “reception room”, usually facing the “tsubo niwa” (inner courtyard). Here is where special special guests are invited to enjoy the seasonal atmosphere of the courtyard garden while enjoying conversation and mostly some tea. The “tsubo niwa” was were the main garden was located, providing not only contact with nature and the passing of the seasons, but also natural light and flow of air throughout the entire house.

KYOTO R machiya house view from the Japanese garden

Finally, all along the side of these rooms is the “hashiri niwa”, or “hallway garden”, where the kitchen would, toilet and bathrooms would be set. This area was typically of dirt floor and with very high ceiling with an escape for the smoke to escape when cooking and to also provide some natural light throughout the day. Customers and guests were, of course, not invited into this area during their visit.

Original machiya structure on top of the KYOTO R kitchen

With time, many of these rooms have been modified to accommodate the needs of modern day life, but as can be seen in our KYOTO R house, the general structure and design of the house continues to be present as it offers a unique sense of natural beauty.

KYOTO R-Kura room

At the very back of the house was a separated room dedicated to storing the family’s valuables, these being money, merchandise or the family treasures. This is the “kura”, or “storehouse”. As the walls are covered in a thick plaster, the whole room remains quite cool even in mid-summer. To take advantage of this, our KYOTO R-Kura room is a perfect example of the unique modern changes that these houses may have, making it into a unique room, separated from the rest of the house, making it a perfectly quiet and serene place for students or foreign workers to focus on their reason for being in Kyoto.

There are several other aspects that decorate and compose a machiya house, but for the moment, we hope that the description above offers a quick look into the practicality and beauty that these houses continue to have even until today.

If you would like to stay in a traditional machiya style townhouse during your planned stay in Kyoto, don’t hesitate to contact our dedicated staff for a personalized search into what option may be best for you.

SHARE

RELATED PROPERTY

  • SHARE HOUSE

    SHIBUYA SENDAGAYA ANNEX 2 (TOKYO SHARE HOUSE)


  • SHARE HOUSE
    GUEST HOUSE

    SHINJUKU AKEBONOBASHI 5 (TOKYO SHARE HOUSE)


  • SHARE HOUSE

    TABATA


  • SHARE HOUSE

    MUSASHINO MUSASHI-SEKI (TOKYO SHARE HOUSE)


  • NEW
    SHARE HOUSE

    KITA SHINJUKU


  • NEW
    SHARE HOUSE
    GUEST HOUSE

    NISHI SHINJUKU 3 (TOKYO SHARE HOUSE)


ARCHIVE

This web site uses cookies. You will be agreeing to the use of our cookies by continuing to browse the site. Find out more here.