2021/09/03(周五) 在日本生活

东京住宿或留在京都

来日本的外国学生、旅行者、工作相关的访客和实习生访问量最大的两个城市是东京和京都,但这两个城市有什么区别?

除了在规模(东京市有 2,194 平方公里,而京都市有 827.8 平方公里)和人口(东京有 1,310 万居民,而京都只有 140 万居民)方面存在明显差异之外,在决定在日本的住宿地点时还需要考虑其他主要差异。

我们快速浏览一下可能有助于您决定哪个城市最适合您下次日本旅行计划的一些因素。

 

房屋

在这两个地区的共享房屋、宾馆和公寓单元中,查看SAKURA HOUSE每月房间时最明显的区别之一是东京的现代设计房屋和京都的传统“町屋”房屋的区别。

尽管经过翻新并配备了现代舒适和便利的元素,我们的京都住宅单元仍保持其主体结构和设计完好无损,让居民在传统的日式住宅中感受生活的特色。这种类型的房子也在东京,但随着现代化的巨大进步,它们现在在城市中已经不那么明显了。另一个突出的方面是京都市禁止建筑高度,不允许摩天大楼或其他高层建筑的存在。实际上,市内最高的建筑结构是京都塔,就在京都站外。

住在这两个城市的游客也提到了房间大小的差异,京都通常比东京大。通常情况并非如此,但值得注意的是,东京小房间的价格可能与京都普通房间的价格相同。这让日本的旧都显得比现在的首都便宜一点。

 

街道

京都街道特有的格子图案在东京蜿蜒的街道上显得格外便利。

相比之下,京都有更好的方向感,这使得在城市中旅行变得更加容易,特别是对于第一次来的游客。
东京的街道经常被比作一碗面条,蜿蜒的街道连经验丰富的邮递员都感到困惑。据说东京的警察大部分时间都在为旅客和当地人指路。当然,随着近几十年来智能手机的更新,触手可及的地图已经为外国游客解决了大部分问题,但掌握如何用日语问路的基本知识对双方都有很大帮助城市。

 

运输

快速浏览一下上面的东京铁路地图,可以看到大约 60 条不同的铁路线在整个城市中运行。这不包括所有也在使用的巴士(显然超过 130 条不同的巴士线路)。

相比之下,上图仅显示了京都的 10 条铁路线,包括新干线(子弹头列车),主要用于前往邻近城市和日本其他地区。如果使用公共交通工具游览城市,巴士应该是一种更灵活的选择,可以找到直达目的地的路线。

然而,交通方面的另一个巨大差异是,京都的自行车比东京更频繁(比较人口数量)。除了东京蜿蜒的街道之外,似乎还有更多的斜坡和不平坦的表面。
拥有更平坦和更均匀的表面比例,让京都市民可以享受自行车所允许的廉价和健康的个人交通工具。

总而言之,东京提供更好的公共交通选择,步行距离更短,而京都则方便您拥有自己的自行车自由骑行,并定期缩短步行距离。

 

公园和休闲

作为一个大都市,它是共用感觉认为东京绿点和公园的量少,它是如此,如果我们比较各面的大小。
京都四面环山,有几座寺庙和神社,都有自己的指定绿地,这座城市给人一种始终与自然接触的感觉。例如,在主要商业区散步,看到“东山”的大山,这种场景并不少见。

 

休闲方面,这两个城市都以在城镇各处都隐藏着宝石而闻名。然而,东京利用其广阔的土地空间和摩天大楼的优势,在任何地方提供种类繁多的餐厅、居酒屋酒吧和创意商店。对秋叶原的简单访问将使任何访客不知所措并享受数天的乐趣。东京的夜生活也更加热闹,有几个夜总会和现场表演。

相比之下,京都在这个意义上的选择更为有限,但作为一个强大的旅游目的地,商店会定期更新其产品和服务。有些商店多年来都会发生变化,如果长时间无人参观,它就会成为一个不同的城市。
话虽如此,也有几家商店持续营业多年(甚至数百年),使重访成为一种熟悉而温馨的体验。
夜生活方面,当然可以去附近的当地居酒屋酒吧,但对于大型夜总会和live house,去的地方应该是京都市中心的主要商业区。

 

最后,京都确实有几个世界文化遗产,它的小面积(与东京相比)允许在逗留期间轻松参观。

 

人们

甚至日本人自己也倾向于指出京都人的慷慨和热情。询问方向并让您的向导与您一起步行前往目的地,而不仅仅是口头指导您,这是经常发生的事情。这可能是由于他们持续的传统信仰,也因为当地人通常不了解外语。另一方面,这似乎也赋予了当地人一种强烈的性格,如果不认真和尊重地对待他们的传统,就会表现出来。

 

东京每年都欢迎来自其他县的大量外国游客和当地人,这使其人口非常多样化。这是了解不同文化的好方法,不仅来自海外,也来自日本国内。这种多元化也让东京本地人能够更多地接触外语,从而更好地与海外游客进行交流。
与京都一样,所谓的“Edokko”(在东京出生和长大的人)往往具有更强的性格,因为他们看到了保持文化活力的内在需求。

 

日常生活

有经验的旅行者经常提到京都的产品往往比东京便宜。这当然取决于所购买的商店和产品的类型,但总的来说,似乎是这样。例如,在一家便宜的餐厅吃一顿典型的饭菜,在东京可能要花费大约 1,000 日元,而在京都只需 825 日元。东京的杂货价格似乎也上涨了 16.29%。话虽如此,如果计划在您逗留期间在日本工作,东京的薪水确实会更高。

经常使用公共交通工具也占据了日常开支的很大一部分。如前所述,京都在交通独立方面允许更多选择,距离可能更短。东京的大面积和错综复杂的铁路系统当然很方便,但可能会花更多的钱。

 

气候

京都的四季似乎更为臭名昭著,不仅因为它与自然的紧密联系,还因为它的地理位置。被群山环绕,这似乎产生了一种封闭的效果,冬天感觉比东京更冷,而夏天也感觉更热、更潮湿。
另一个影响因素是京都的海拔略高于东京(京都海拔 50-60 米,而东京海拔约 40 米)。

 

最后的笔记

 

总而言之,对于“现代日本”类型的住宿,东京是您要去的地方。城市中的大量选择对任何人都有好处。作为一个大而受欢迎的大都市,与人群打交道是事先需要注意的事情。

 

对于更“悠闲”的住宿类型,京都紧凑而传统的轮廓将提供一种更简单的生活方式和一种很棒的日常旅游感觉。
虽然京都可能没有东京那么拥挤,但在繁忙的旅游季节,如春天的樱花、7月11月下旬的红叶季节,情况可能并非如此。

 

如果您正在考虑来日本学习、工作或了解这座城市,无论是长期还是短期逗留,并且无法决定住在哪里,请随时与我们联系,告诉我们您想体验什么或什么您想要的住宿类型。我们知识渊博的员工可以帮助您在两个城市找到最适合您的住宿地点。

分享

相关住宿

  • 个人公寓

    目黑个人公寓A(原目黑公寓)


  • 个人公寓

    沼袋 C(前沼袋 3)


  • 合租公寓
    合租宿舍

    中目黑


  • 合租公寓

    新宿 神乐坂 Shinjuku Kagurazaka


    男性专用

  • 个人公寓

    涉谷恵比寿公寓


  • 合租公寓
    合租宿舍

    新宿曙桥 B(旧曙桥 5)


ARCHIVE

本网站使用cookies。您将继续浏览本网站同意使用我们的cookie。了解更多这里

2021/09/03 (Fri) Japanese Tips

Stay in Tokyo or stay in Kyoto

Two of the most visited cities by foreign students, travelers, work related visitors and interns coming to Japan are Tokyo and Kyoto, but what is the difference between these two cities?

Besides their obvious difference in size (Tokyo city has 2,194 km² while Kyoto city has 827.8 km²) and population (13.1 million inhabitants for Tokyo, while just 1.4 million for Kyoto) there are other major differences to consider when deciding where to stay in Japan.

We take a quick look at some of the factors that may help you decide which city may adapt best for the plans of your next trip to Japan.

 

Houses

With share house, guest house and apartment units in both areas, one of the most visible difference when checking SAKURA HOUSE‘s monthly rooms is the difference of a modern design house in Tokyo and a traditional “Machiya” house in Kyoto.

Although renovated and equipped with modern elements of comfort and convenience, our Kyoto house units have kept their main structure and design intact, allowing residents to feel the characteristic aspect of life in a traditional Japanese style house. These type of houses are also in Tokyo, but with the great advancement of modernization, they are far less visible nowadays in the city. Another outstanding aspect is that Kyoto city has a ban on building heights, which doesn’t allow the presence of skyscrapers or other tall buildings. Actually, the tallest building structure within the city is the Kyoto Tower, just outside Kyoto Station.

Visitors staying in both cities also mention the difference in room size, with Kyoto usually being larger than those in Tokyo. This is not usually the case, but what stands out about this is that the price for a small room in Tokyo may be the same price for a regular sized room in Kyoto. This makes the old capital of Japan seem a little cheaper than the current capital city.

 

Streets

The characteristic grid pattern of the streets of Kyoto stand out in convenience to the winding streets of Tokyo.

In comparison, Kyoto allows for a better sense of direction, which makes it much easier to travel around the city, particularly for first time visitors.
Tokyo streets are regularly compared to a bowl of noodles, where the winding streets confuse even the experienced postman. It is said that policemen in Tokyo spend most of their time having to give directions to both travelers and locals alike. Of course, with the update to smartphones in the recent decades, having a map right at your fingertips has solved most of this issue for foreign travelers, but having a basic knowledge of how to ask for directions in Japanese is a great help, for both cities.

 

Transportation

A quick look at the above rail map of Tokyo shows about 60 different rail lines running all around the city. This does not include all the buses that are also in service (apparently well over 130 different bus lines).

In comparison, the above map shows just 10 rail lines in Kyoto, including the Shinkansen (bullet train), mostly used to travel to neighboring cities and other areas of Japan. If using public transport to get around the city, buses shall be a much more flexible option to find a direct route to your desired destination.

However, another great great difference regarding transport is that bicycles in Kyoto are more regularly used than in Tokyo (comparing on the population amount). To add to the winding streets of Tokyo, there seem to be more slopes and uneven surfaces as well.
Having a flatter and more even surface proportion, allows Kyoto citizens to enjoy the cheap and healthy form of personal transportation that a bicycle allows. 

In summary, Tokyo allows for better public transport options with fewer walking distances, while Kyoto in convenient for having your own bike to ride around freely and regularly shorter distances to enjoy a walk.

 

Parks and recreation

Being a major metropolis, it is common sense to think that Tokyo has a less amount of green spots and parks, and it is so if we compare the surface size of each.
Kyoto, being surrounded by mountains and with several temples and shrines with their own designated green areas, the city gives a sense of always being in contact with nature. It is no uncommon scene, for example, to be walking around the main business area and seeing the great mountains of “higashiyama”.

 

Recreation wise, both cities are well known for having hidden gems all around town. Tokyo though, takes advantage of its great land space and skyscraping buildings to offer a great variety of restaurants, izakaya bars and creative shops anywhere. A simple visit to Akihabara shall overwhelm and entertain any visitor for several days. The nightlife in Tokyo is also much more livelier with its several night clubs and live houses.

Kyoto, in comparison, has more limited options in this sense, but being a strong tourist destination, shops are regularly updating their products and services. Some shops get changed throughout the years, making it somewhat a different city if left unvisited for a long time.
That being said, there are also several shops with years (even centuries) of continued business, making it a familiar and heartwarming experience to revisit.
In terms of nightlife, it is certainly possible to visit the local izakaya bar in the neighborhood, but for large nightclubs and live houses, the place to go to shall be the main business area in downtown Kyoto.

 

Finally Kyoto does have several World Cultural Heritage Sites, and its small surface (in comparison to Tokyo) allows them to be visited easily during ones stay.

 

People

Even Japanese people themselves tend to point out the generosity and hospitality of people in Kyoto. It is a regular occurrence to ask directions and have your guide walk with you toward your destination rather than just guide you verbally. This may be so due to their ongoing traditional beliefs but also because locals are not usually knowledgeable on foreign languages. On the other side, this also appears to have given locals a strong character, shown if not taking their traditions seriously and respectfully.

 

Tokyo, welcomes a great number of foreign visitors and locals from other prefectures every year, which makes it a very diversified population. This is a great way to get know about different cultures, not only from overseas but also from within Japan. This diversification also allows Tokyo locals to be more in contact with foreign languages, giving a better chance of communication with visitors from overseas.
As with Kyoto, the so called “Edokko” (people born and raised in Tokyo) tend to have a stronger character as they see the innate need to keep their culture alive as well. 

 

Everyday life

Experienced travelers regularly mention that products in Kyoto tend to be cheaper than in Tokyo. This of course depends on the type of shop and product being bought, but in general terms, it seems to be so. For example, a typical meal at an inexpensive restaurant may cost about 1,000 yen in Tokyo while just 825 yen in Kyoto. Grocery prices also seem to be 16.29% higher in Tokyo. This being said though, if planning to work in Japan during your stay, the salary Tokyo does tend to be higher.

Regular use of public transportation also takes a great part of everyday expenses. As mentioned previously, Kyoto allows a bit more options in terms of being transport independent and distances may be shorter. The large area of Tokyo and intricate rail system is certainly convenient but may take a larger bite at ones wallet.

 

Climate

Seasons seem to be more notorious in Kyoto, not only for its strong connection to nature, but because of its geography as well. Being surrounded by mountains, this appears to make an enclosing effect, having winters feel colder than in Tokyo while summers are also felt hotter and more humid.
Another contributing factor of this is that Kyoto is slightly higher above see level than Tokyo (Kyoto is 50-60 meters above sea-level while Tokyo sits at about 40 meters).

 

Final notes

 

Over all, for a “modern Japan” type of stay, Tokyo is the place to go to. The overwhelming amount of options in the city shall have something for anybody. Being the large and popular metropolis it is, dealing with crowds is something to be aware of beforehand.

 

For a more “laid back” type of stay, the compact and traditional profile of Kyoto shall provide for a simpler kind of lifestyle and a great everyday tourism type of feeling.
Although Kyoto may not be as crowded as Tokyo, this may not be the case during busy tourist seasons such as the cherry blossoms during spring, the Gion Matsuri month in July and the Autumn Leaves season in late November.

 

If you are thinking on coming to Japan to study, work or get to know the city, either for a long or short stay term, and can’t decide where to stay, feel free to contact us with what you want to experience or what type of stay you would like to have. Our knowledgeable staff can help you find the best place for you to stay at in both cities.

SHARE

RELATED PROPERTY

  • SHARE HOUSE

    SHIBUYA SENDAGAYA ANNEX 2 (TOKYO SHARE HOUSE)


  • SHARE HOUSE
    GUEST HOUSE

    SHINJUKU AKEBONOBASHI 5 (TOKYO SHARE HOUSE)


  • SHARE HOUSE
    GUEST HOUSE
    APARTMENT

    OJIMA TOKYO 1 (KOTO TOKYO SHARE HOUSE)


  • SHARE HOUSE

    TABATA


  • SHARE HOUSE

    MUSASHINO MUSASHI-SEKI (TOKYO SHARE HOUSE)


  • NEW
    SHARE HOUSE

    KITA SHINJUKU


ARCHIVE

This web site uses cookies. You will be agreeing to the use of our cookies by continuing to browse the site. Find out more here.