2021/10/12(周二) 在日本生活

生活在日本的传统中:侘寂

在日本生活时,日本文化的许多方面都会被立即感知,例如用筷子吃饭、鞠躬的习俗或进入商店或餐厅时明确无误的“irasshaimase”喊叫声。其他人应经常与室友合住,与室友或家人或朋友一起住在宾馆,或独自住在东京或京都的私人公寓,与SAKURA HOUSE

但是,由于其独特的特性,其他一些方面可能更加微妙甚至难以理解。其中之一就是“侘寂”的传统审美观念。我们中的一些人听说过它并且可能对它有一个想法或形象,但它是如何以及为什么起源的?而且,更重要的是,它基本上是什么?
我们在这个 Sakura Tip 上快速浏览一下这个独特的概念。

SAKURA HOUSE KYOTO R町屋的秋叶

首先,就像许多日语单词一样,“侘び”和“寂び”在几个世纪以来都经历了微妙的演变。 “侘寂”起源于 16 世纪左右的茶大师千利休,原意是孤独的感觉,远离社会,更接近自然。由此我们可以看出,它在某种程度上是指坚持事物的本性及其自然呈现的美丽。
另一方面,“Sabi”则带有时间的流逝,枯萎和悲伤的含义。
有了这些概念,侘寂开始有了隐居生活的意义,没有社会上的奢侈生活。从某种意义上说,这两个词似乎是相辅相成的,意思是“意识到和欣赏时间流逝赋予事物的独特美”。

有助于理解这个独特术语存在的一个方面是通过历史塑造日本文化的另一个主要因素,即佛教。
在其中,推动侘寂的最基本方面是“三法印”或三法印,即无常、苦和空。人们相信,找到所有这三个标志的和平将带来伟大的智慧。

我们将这 3 个概念与侘寂的联系视为事物的无常、这可能导致的痛苦和空性(所有概念中最深的)对于发现事物不存在并且它是赋予他们意义的人。

与日本文化的许多传统概念一样,很难找到词来描述它,因此通常建议感受它而不是理性分析它。茶道可以说是所有侘寂的管弦乐队。形状不完美的茶杯,小而朴素的房间(原来只有4张榻榻米,有时只有2张)和仪式的主要概念之一“ichi go ichi e”,意味着每一次相遇都是独一无二的,不可重复的,只是最能体现这种想法的几个特征。

在寺庙或传统的日本花园中漫步,也可以一睹这一概念的独特性。例如,即使寺庙的正门可能已经风化,我们仍然觉得它美丽而令人印象深刻。一个漂亮的花园可能有一棵树,它长得不是很直,而是以错综复杂的方式生长,赋予它独特的吸引力,突出并赋予花园独特的个性。

SAKURA HOUSE KYOTO R的日本庭园景观

在日本的日常生活中,有很多机会可以看到侘寂,所以如果您计划长期留在东京工作,或每月留在京都学习和发现,请随时联系我们经验丰富的工作人员帮助您找到住处,让您更接近日本生活的方方面面。

分享

相关住宿

  • 合租宿舍

    东京田端3 (宿舍)


  • 合租公寓
    合租宿舍
    个人公寓

    杉並 荻窪(东京合租公寓)


  • 合租公寓
    合租宿舍

    江東区 门前仲町 D


    女性专用

  • 合租公寓
    合租宿舍
    个人公寓

    大岛东京2


  • 合租公寓
    合租宿舍

    浅草蔵前


  • 合租公寓
    合租宿舍

    大岛东京4


ARCHIVE

本网站使用cookies。您将继续浏览本网站同意使用我们的cookie。了解更多这里

2021/10/12 (Tue) Japanese Tips

Living in Japan’s traditions: Wabi-sabi

While living in Japan, many aspects of the Japanese culture shall be perceived right away, like eating with chopsticks, the custom of bowing or the unmistakable shout of “irasshaimase” when entering a store or restaurant. Others shall be lived often at your share house with your housemates, guest house with your roommates or with your own family or friends or just by yourself at a private apartment in Tokyo or in Kyoto with SAKURA HOUSE.

Some other aspects though, may be more subtle and even difficult to understand because of its unique characteristics. One of these is the traditional aesthetic concept of “wabi-sabi”. Some of us have heard of it and possibly have an idea or image of what it is, but how and why did it origin? And, even more important, what is it basically?
We take a quick look at this unique concept on this Sakura Tip.

Autumn leaves at SAKURA HOUSE KYOTO R machiya house

To begin with, as with many Japanese words, both “wabi” (詫び) and “sabi” (寂び) had a delicate evolution of meaning throughout the centuries. Originating around the 16th century with tea master Sen no Rikyu, “wabi” originally meant the feeling of loneliness, being away from society and closer to nature. We can see then that it refers in a way to sticking to the original nature of things and their beauty as they are as presented by nature.
“Sabi” on the other hand carries the meaning of passage of time, withering and thereafter of sadness.
With these concepts then, wabi-sabi began to have a meaning of recluse living and without the luxuries of life in society. In a way, both words seem to complement each other giving a meaning of “realizing and appreciating the unique beauty that the passage of time gives to things”.

One aspect that helps understand the existence of this unique term, is another main factor that has molded Japanese culture through history, Buddhism.
Within it, the most fundamental aspect that has pushed wabi-sabi to be is the “sanbōin” (三法印) or the three marks of existence, which are impermanence, suffering and emptiness. It is believed that finding peace with all three of these marks shall allow for great wisdom.

We see the connection of these 3 concepts with wabi-sabi as the impermanence of withering things, the suffering this may cause and the emptiness (the deepest of all concepts) meaning something to the likes of finding out that things lack existence and that it is human beings who give them that meaning.

As with many traditional concepts of Japanese culture, it can be difficult to find words to describe it, so it is commonly recommended to feel it rather than rationally analyze it. The tea ceremony can be said to be an orchestra of everything wabi-sabi. The imperfectly shaped tea cups, the small and modest room (which used to be originally just of 4 tatamis or sometimes just 2) and one of the ceremony’s main concept of “ichi go ichi e”, meaning that every encounter is unique and unrepeatable, are just a few of the characteristics that best show this idea.

Walking around temples or traditional Japanese gardens shall also offer a glimpse into the uniqueness of this concept. As an example, even though a temple’s main gate may be weathering, we still find it beautiful and impressive. A nice garden may have a tree that has not grown straight but in an intricate way, giving it a peculiar appeal that stands out and gives the garden a unique personality.

View of the Japanese garden in SAKURA HOUSE KYOTO R

There shall be many chances to see wabi-sabi in everyday life in Japan, so if you are planning your long term stay in Tokyo for work, or a monthly stay in Kyoto for study and discovery, do not hesitate to contact our experienced staff to help you find your accommodation and bring you closer to all the beautiful aspects of living in Japan.

SHARE

RELATED PROPERTY

  • SHARE HOUSE

    SHIBUYA SENDAGAYA ANNEX 2 (TOKYO SHARE HOUSE)


  • SHARE HOUSE
    GUEST HOUSE

    SHINJUKU AKEBONOBASHI 5 (TOKYO SHARE HOUSE)


  • SHARE HOUSE
    GUEST HOUSE
    APARTMENT

    OJIMA TOKYO 1 (KOTO TOKYO SHARE HOUSE)


  • SHARE HOUSE

    TABATA


  • SHARE HOUSE

    MUSASHINO MUSASHI-SEKI (TOKYO SHARE HOUSE)


  • NEW
    SHARE HOUSE

    KITA SHINJUKU


ARCHIVE

This web site uses cookies. You will be agreeing to the use of our cookies by continuing to browse the site. Find out more here.